The Session

The Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) is governed by councils, which exist to help congregations and the church as a whole be more faithful participants in the mission of Christ.  The councils of the church are the session, the presbytery, the synod and the General Assembly. The session is the council for each local congregation and is composed of ruling elders, elected by the congregation to active service, as well as all installed pastors and any associate pastors.

The session’s main responsibilities and powers fall within three broad categories 

  1. Providing the word of God may be truly preached and heard
  2. Providing the Sacraments be rightly administered and received
  3. Nurturing the covenant community of Christ’s disciples. 

First Presbyterian of New Orleans Session is composed of 3 classes of elders consisting of two or three members elected by the congregation to serve three-year terms. These terms are staggered so that elders retire from the board each year, and newly-elected elders joining the Session each year. 

The Session meets on a monthly basis to carry out its responsibilities for the mission and government of the church.

The Session consists of the pastor and the elders in active service. 

The Clerk of the Session is Sherri Hutton.

The Treasurer is Candice Bellau.

Class of 2017:

Sherri Hutton
Zane Fisher

Class of 2018:

Dianne Kleinfeld
Christopher Roberts 

Class of 2019:

Candice Bellau
Tracy Rene’ Helms-Capasso



Presbyterian Fun Fact

There are about 75 million Reformed/Presbyterian Christians worldwide and about 2.5 million belong to the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.).


Social bookmarks

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.